Alabama defeats Georgia in overtime thriller to capture 17th national title

ATLANTA- No. 4 Alabama defeated No. 3 Georgia in overtime, 26-23, in the College Football Playoff National Championship to capture its 17th title in program history. The win gives head coach Nick Saban his sixth national championship, tying Paul “Bear” Bryant for the most all time. Alabama finished off the season with a 13-1 record, and captured its second championship in the playoff era. The Crimson Tide came back from a 13-0 deficit to shock Georgia for the win. This is the fifth time under Saban that Alabama has won a national championship.

Alabama looks to slow down Georgia's SEC leading rushing attack

The duo of Nick Chubb and Sony Michel ran for 199 yards and a touchdown against Alabama in the only time either player has faced the Crimson Tide. The stat is a little misleading, since 83 of Chubb’s 146 yards came on a long touchdown run. The rest of the time the Alabama defense stifled the second and third all-time leading rushers in Georgia history.