Alabama elects majority Republican officials

Alabama elects majority Republican officials

While the presidential election is what got most of the media coverage on Tuesday, Alabamians cast their votes in a number of other races. The down-ballot results followed the historical pattern, with the majority of those elected being Republican.

Incumbent Senator Richard Shelby secured his sixth term for the U.S. Senate, winning 64.2 percent of the votes against Democrat Ron Crumpton.

For the U.S. House of Representatives, Rep. Brandley Byrne won Alabama’s first district uncontested, Rep. Martha Roby won the second district by a margin of 10 points, Rep. Mike Rogers won the third district by a margin of 34 points, Rep. Robert Aderholt won the fourth district uncontested, Rep. Mo Brooks won the fifth district by a margin of 33 points, Rep. Gary Palmer won the sixth district by a margin of 50 points, and Dem. Terri Sewell won the seventh district, where Tuscaloosa resides, uncontested.

The three Alabama Supreme Court Justices up for reelection, Michael Bolin, Kelli Wise and Tom Parker, all won their seats on the court uncontested.

In the four races for Alabama State Board of Education, Jackie Zeigler, Stephanie Bell, Ella Bell and Jeff Newman all won their districts. Zeigler was the only non-incumbent, Stephanie Bell was the only one running uncontested and Ella Bell is the only Democrat.

Meanwhile, Rep. Twinkle Cavanaugh, who ran uncontested, won the office of president of the Public Service Commission.

All 14 of the proposed state amendments passed.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Crimson White.