Former UA golfer Brooke Pancake becomes first women's golfer at Alabama to be honored with the NCAA Top 10 Award

Former Alabama women’s golfer Brooke Pancake was recently selected for the NCAA Today’s Top 10 Award, which recognizes student-athletes who completed their athletics eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year and succeeded in their sport, in the classroom and in the community.

“What a tremendous honor for Brooke,” UA head coach Mic Potter said. “She accomplished so much while she was at Alabama and was critical to our success both last season and throughout her career. She was a great ambassador for our program and exactly what you want in a student-athlete, both on and off the course.”

Pancake’s honors during her four years at Alabama include graduating with a 4.0 GPA with a major in marketing, as well as being selected to represent the United States on the 2012 Curtis Cup team.

She was a two-time first-team All-American and was honored as the top women’s collegiate golfer with the 2012 Honda Sports Award. Pancake received the Roy F. Kramer Award as the top female student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference her senior year while leading the Crimson Tide to the program’s first NCAA Championship. She was also named the Capital One Academic All-American of the Year in the at-large division.

During her senior year, the Chattanooga, Tenn., native led the Crimson Tide with a 72.52 scoring average, a score ranked sixth nationally. She finished her career with a 73.08 scoring average – the best among all Tide golfers who have finished their careers.

Pancake is the 11th Alabama athlete to receive this honor and the first since Kayla Hoffman (gymnastics) last year.

Brooke Pancake is joined by nine other athletes in 2012, including Nick Amuchastegui (Stanford/wrestling), Miles Batty (BYU/cross country), Ashley Brignac (Louisiana Lafayette/softball), Micah Davis (Delta State/football), Robert Griffin III (Baylor/football), Stacey Hagensen (Pacific Lutheran/softball), Lindsay Lettow (Central Missouri/track and field), Liz Phillips (Washington University St. Louis/cross country) and Wendy Trott (Georgia/swimming and diving). Award recipients will be recognized in January at the NCAA Convention in Grapevine, Texas.

Alabama’s previous NCAA Top VIII (now Top 10) recipients include: Randy Hall (football/1975), Steadman Shealy (football/1980), Meredith Willard (gymnastics/1997), Andreé Pickens (gymnastics/2002), Kristin Sterner (gymnastics/2003), DeMeco Ryans (football/2006), Beth Mallory (track and field/2007), Brittany Rogers (softball/2009), Greg McElroy (football/2011) and Kayla Hoffman (gymnastics/2012).


Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Crimson White.