Gymnastics releases 2013 schedule: face only highly ranked teams

The Alabama Gymnastics team released its 2013 schedule on Monday. The Tide, which will be competing for its third straight NCAA Championship, will face the runner-up, as well as the third, sixth and seventh place teams at this year's NCAA Championships. Additionally, every team on Alabama's 2013 team finished the 2012 season in the top 25.

“Any time you go into a season as the defending champion, everyone on your schedule circles that meet in red,” Patterson said. “We're facing the most competitive schedule we have assembled in several years. The ultimate goal is to prepare our ladies to be on the floor the last night of the season with a chance to win a championship. We want to be the best, and to do that, you have to compete against the best, week in and week out.”

The Tide's annual Power of Pink meet, which raises money and awareness for the fight against breast cancer, will be held on Jan. 25 against the Kentucky Wildcats.

Alabama will also host a NCAA Regional this year on Saturday, April 6.

“It's always great for our ladies and our fans when we can host a championship,” Patterson said. “Coleman Coliseum is one of the best environments in collegiate athletics, and that rises to an entirely different level during a championship.”

The entire schedule is listed below:

Date Opponent /Event Location Time Friday, Jan. 11 Missouri Columbia, Mo. 6:30 p.m. CT Friday, Jan. 18 LSU Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:30 p.m. CT Friday, Jan. 25 Kentucky (Power of Pink) Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:30 p.m. CT Weekend of Feb. 1 Georgia Athens, Ga. TBA Friday, Feb. 8 Florida Gainesville, Fla. 7 p.m. ET Friday, Feb. 15 Auburn Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:30 p.m. CT Friday, Feb. 22 Arkansas Fayetteville, Ark. 7 p.m. CT Friday, March 1 UCLA Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:30 p.m. CT Friday, March 8 LSU Baton Rouge, La. 7 p.m. CT Friday, March 15 Oklahoma Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:30 p.m. CT Saturday, March 23 SEC Championships Little Rock, Ark. TBA Saturday, April 6 NCAA Regionals Tuscaloosa, Ala. TBA Fri.-Sun., April 19-21 NCAA Championships Los Angeles, Calif.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Crimson White.